Good ideas and my chair

Today I picked up a computer desk chair to replace the piece of junk that is slowly decomposing into the carpet. $20 used, decent (It looks like the captains throne from the Starship Enterprise). Now the only reason I bought it was because I figured my subletter, Doug, needs a chair that doesn’t require “special” attention. So I took an extended study break and jogged to Ralphs to pick it up. After much rolling I got it back to good old 433. It didn’t seem to take that long. Now getting this new chair instigated a few, good, thought provoking thoughts in my brain.

As I was rolling the chair, I noticed that the area where I was clutching the chair had white marks on it. It was dust, dead skin stuff, and all that crap deposited over the years by this girl I bought it from. I was like, what the shizzy, what is this sheizer? This initiated the first thought provoking thought, which has to do with the stereotype that women are clean creatures who are much cleaner than men.

Now I understand there are many messy men. Today I went to my friends room, and it smelled and looked like Gandalf and the Balrog had just done gross battle. Socks, clothes,… they were everywhere. But wait just a minute! There are messy girls too, as well as there are many clean men! In many a circumstance (including goc!) people kind of joke how messy all men are. Gross! The first assumption is that if you are a man, you are messy, and if you are clean, you are an exception! Messy women, I’m telling you, they exist… and not only that, they are “in the closet” messy, meaning you would never realize it from the outside.

So back to my chair: I finally rolled it up into the elevator and into my room (much to Darryl’s surprise) and proceeded to clean it. I used 409 on all the plastic areas and laundry detergent on the fabric. After some cleaning, i vacuumed the ground of whatever dust had come off.

Becuase the seat was wet, I moved my academic materials to the living room to study. I had to let the seat dry. This prompted thought provoking idea number two.

As I was studying, reading more goofy information on music post 1950, I picked up “Principles of Physics” laying right next to me. One of my roommates left it out there. I flipped through the first few pages, looking for when the book actually started. A ha. I began to read… I hadn’t read anything science or math related stuff since 11th grade! t reminded me of how much fun I used to have and how smart I (used to think) I was. Truly, science and math are wonderful things. As opposed to dealing with abstracts ideas and lofty devices of expression, science cuts to the point of things. Weight, speed, physics stuff – it’s all real info that relates to the real world. Now art relates to the real world as well, just in a more roundabout way. It’s kind of sad how the mere opinions of cheesy big-art-heads define how we should understand it all. Physics seems a bit more down to earth.

Now here’s thought provoking idea number three. I think everybody questions what they’re doing with their life and if its the right thing. I remember Richard said a long time ago, “what if I did music, fun…. ah…” But want to know something funny, I say the opposite. “What if I could study physics, or business, or acting…. ahh fun…. and money… yum.” Isn’t that odd? Thre grass always seems greener on the other side. However, slowly I’m learning to approach my craft with an attitude of learning to appreciate it more after the honeymoon phase is over.

So basically I’m betrothed. Commit and grow.

So many great ideas unearthed because of this chair.

2 Responses to “Good ideas and my chair”


  1. 1 Kevin S. June 15, 2006 at 5:56 am

    Yeah. Women are very messy. So are men. It’s a human condition. Entropy. And yet men are blamed for this. I fault GOC segregation and the concept that somehow it’s okay to consistently berate men, but its not okay to berate women. This inequity is pretty much the at root of everything you mentioned.

    Oh, and vacuum the chair. šŸ˜‰

  2. 2 whitedestiny June 15, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    “what the shizzy, what is this sheizer”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. 3 littlerichard June 16, 2006 at 5:26 am

    true dat about the grass, yo.


Leave a Reply

