Violin is hard

Yesterday was the 4th of July, and all I can say is that there are dangerous people in Indiana (when given fireworks). A group from the camp walked toward a local school to watch fireworks. My friend went last year and said in his thick, Italian accent “someone will die tonight.” Haha… ok. So we walked there once it started getting dark. As we got closer to the school, the situation began to get more intense. There were a lot of people, “everyone did what was right in his own eyes” like in the book of Judges. It was like anarchy in the streets minus the looting. The locals crowded the streets and there was a lot of country music, smoke and firecrackers going off. Regular people were setting off fireworks out of paint cans among hundreds of people. Babies and kids were running around. Someone right next to me got hit in the face by a firecracker. I was thinking doesn’t she need to go to the hospital?, but no one made a deal of it. Then when the real fireworks show came on, it lasted for I think an hour. I kid you not, at least an hour of fireworks.

I have had two lessons and have to cram for a masterclass with my old teacher. He is a genius, but he is so difficult to please and doesn’t ever his congratulate students. Since leaving UCLA his demands have become very tough. My lessons are intense. Afterwards my brain is trashed and I feel quite unable to adequately prepare for the next musical slaughter. I think this is a way to learn, but I don’t think this is a good way to learn for me.

I’m glad violin is only a temporal assignment. God is good, always. I hope you all have a blessed, safe, and productive week. Pray intensely!

0 Responses to “Violin is hard”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

